top of page


Historically, hotel classification systems were developed to ensure safe and reliable lodging and food for travellers at a time when very few such trustworthy establishments existed.

Many countries allow various classification systems for hotels in accordance to chain name and type of hotel, however, there is no international classification which has been adopted.

As a rough guide:

1-Star hotel provides a limited range of amenities and services, but adheres to a high standard of facility-wide cleanliness.

2-Star hotel provides good accommodation and better equipped bedrooms, each with a telephone and attached private bathroom.

3-Star hotel has more spacious rooms and adds high-class decorations and furnishings and color TV. It also offers one or more bars or lounges.

4-Star hotel is much more comfortable and larger, and provides excellent cuisine (table d’hote and a la carte), room service, and other amenities.

5-Star hotel offers most luxurious premises, widest range of guest services, as well as swimming pool and sport and exercise facilities.

One-Star Hotels: Hotels in this classification are likely to be small and independently owned, with a family atmosphere. Services may be provided by the owner and family on an informal basis. There may be a limited range of facilities and meals may be fairly simple. Lunch, for example, may not be served. Some bedrooms may not have an en suite bath/shower rooms. Maintenance, cleanliness and comfort should, however, always be of an acceptable standard.


Two-Star Hotels: In this classification hotels will typically be small to medium sized and offer more extensive facilities than at the one-star level. Some business hotels come into the two-star classification and guests can expect comfortable, well equipped, overnight accommodation, usually with an en-suite bath/shower room. Reception and other staff will aim for a more professional presentation that at the one-star level, and offer a wider range of straightforward services, including food and drink.

Three-Star Hotels: At this level, hotels are usually of a size to support higher staffing levels, and a significantly greater quality and range of facilities than at the lower star classifications. Reception and the other public rooms will be more spacious and the restaurant will normally also cater to non-residents. All bedrooms will have an en suite bath and shower rooms and offer a good standard of comfort and equipment, such as a hair dryer, direct dial telephone and toiletries in the bathroom. Besides room service, some provisions for business travellers can be expected.

Four-Star Hotels: Expectations at this level include a degree of luxury as well as quality in the furnishings, decor and equipment, in every area of the hotel. Bedrooms will also usually offer more space than at the lower star levels, and well designed, coordinated furnishings and decor. The en-suite bathrooms will have both bath and fixed shower. There will be a high enough ratio of staff to guests to provide services like porterage, 24-hour room service, laundry and dry-cleaning. The restaurant will demonstrate a serious approach to its cuisine.

Five-Star Hotels: Here you should find spacious and luxurious accommodation throughout the hotel, matching the best international standards. Interior design should impress with its quality and attention to detail, comfort and elegance. Furnishings should be immaculate. Services should be formal, well supervised and flawless in attention to guests’ needs, without being intrusive. The restaurant will demonstrate a high level of technical skill, F&B production to the highest international standards. Staff will be knowledgeable, helpful, well versed in all aspects of customer care and combining efficiency with courtesy.

Heritage Hotels

‘Heritage Hotels’ cover running hotels in palaces/castles/forts/havelies/hunting loges/residence of any size built prior to 1950. The facade, architectural features and general construction should have the distinctive qualities and ambience in keeping with the traditional way of life of the area. The architecture of the property to be considered for this category should not normally be interfered with. Any extension,improvement, renovation, change in the existing structures should be in keeping with the traditional architectural styles and constructional techniques harmonising the new with the old. After expansion/renovation, the newly built up area added should not exceed 50% of the total built up (plinth) area including the old and new structures. For this purpose, facilities such as swimming pools, lawns etc. will be excluded. Heritage Hotels will be sub-classified in the following categories:


This category will cover hotel in Residences/Havelies/Hunting Lodges/Castles/Forts/Palaces built prior to 1950. The hotel should have a minimum of 5 rooms (10 beds).

Heritage Classic:

This category will cover hotels in Residences/Havelies/Hunting Lodges/Castles/Forts/Palaces built Prior to 1935. The hotel should have a minimum of 15 room (30 beds).

Heritage Grand:

This category will cover hotels in Residence/Havelis/Hunting Lodges/Castles/Forts/Palaces built prior to 1935. The hotel should have minimum of 15 rooms (30 beds).

Room & Bath Size: No room or bathroom size is prescribed for any of the categories. However, general ambience, comfort and imaginative readaptation would be considered while awarding sub-classification ‘classic’ or ‘grand’.

bottom of page